MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Carlos Martínez
ERA W-L K
3.11 8-6 117
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 9/21/1991 Birthplace: Puerto Plata, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 29 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST1:35 PM CST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE2:35 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Saturday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Carlos Martinez walked two and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST2:25 PM CST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 8-6, allowing two hits and two walks over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Saturday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Friday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Atlanta Braves 11-6 on Monday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0 on Sunday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his third save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-7 on Monday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Sunday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After the game, manager Mike Shildt said Martinez will replace Bud Norris as the team's closer.
Sep. 5 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his first save, allowing no runs on two hits in 2.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Washington Nationals 7-6 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST3:03 PM CST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Carlos Martinez walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Monday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST4:04 PM CST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-4 on Sunday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Carlos Martinez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-0 on Thursday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Carlos Martinez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-0 on Wednesday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 9:31 PM PT10:31 PM MT11:31 PM CT12:31 AM ET0:31 ET4:31 GMT12:31 9:31 PM MST11:31 PM EST10:31 PM CST12:01 AM VEN8:31 UAE11:31 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 7-6, allowing no hits over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-5 on Friday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST11:36 PM CST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE12:36 AM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Tuesday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 31 10:22 AM PT11:22 AM MT12:22 PM CT1:22 PM ET13:22 ET17:22 GMT1:22 10:22 AM MST12:22 PM EST11:22 AM CST12:52 PM VEN21:22 UAE12:22 PM CT-Martinez (right shoulder strain) came off the DL on Tuesday.
Analysis: Martinez is in the process of converting to a reliever, and while the new role could help prevent a fourth DL stint this season for the two-time All-Star, it certainly decreases his fantasy value.
July 21 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST10:01 AM CST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Martinez was activated from the disabled list to start Monday against Colorado, but was removed after 4 2/3 innings with a strained right shoulder.
Analysis: Martinez, who had missed 11 days with a right oblique strain, left following a visit from a trainer with two on in a scoreless game. Both runners ended up scoring when reliever Daniel Poncedeleon served up a grand slam to Nolan Arenado. Martinez did manage nine strikeouts prior to departing. Though the Cardinals have termed the strain as "mild", there's a decent chance he lands back on the DL.
July 19 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 6-6, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 9-6 on Thursday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 6-5, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 9-1 on Friday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 7 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 6-4, allowing one run on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Saturday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 3 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 5-4, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-3 on Monday. Martinez struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 27 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST10:37 PM CST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 4-4, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cleveland Indians 11-2 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-4, allowing seven runs - five earned - on eight hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-3 on Thursday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 16 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed three runs on seven hits and six walks in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Saturday. Martinez struck out five, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-3, allowing five runs on four hits and seven walks in 3.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-3 on Sunday. Martinez struck out five, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 5 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed two runs on four hits and five walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 7-4 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out five, ending the game with a 1.83 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 10 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-The Cardinals took Martinez (right lat strain) off the DL to start Tuesday against Miami.
Analysis: Martinez reported no discomfort after throwing 63 pitches in a rehab start for Double-A Springfield on Thursday. The St. Louis ace recorded a fantastic 1.62 ERA through eight starts before being put on the DL on May 9.
May 8 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-2, allowing four runs - two earned - on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-1 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 1.62 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 2 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 3-1, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 7.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out five, ending the game with a 1.40 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one run on four hits in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Thursday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 1.43 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Martinez has hit a batter in a team-record seven consecutive games dating to Sept. 26, matching Pedro Martinez and Dave Bush for the fourth-longest streak in major league history.
Apr. 21 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed three hits and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Saturday. Martinez struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 2-1, allowing two hits and four walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Sunday. Martinez struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.75 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one run on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 1-1, allowing four hits and two walks over 8.1 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-0 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 0-1, allowing five runs - four earned - on four hits and six walks in 4.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 9-4 on Thursday. Martinez struck out five, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 2.31 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 2 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET17:04 GMT1:04 10:04 AM MST12:04 PM EST11:04 AM CST12:34 PM VEN21:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-The Cardinals have scratched Martinez from his scheduled start against Boston on Friday because of a personal reasons.
Analysis: Martinez threw a simulated game on a back field, then returned to his home in Jupiter. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny did not provide a time frame for Martinez's return. Projected as the Cardinals' opening day starter, Martinez allowed one run, one hit and three walks in his spring training debut Saturday against the New York Mets. Martinez was 12-11 with a 3.64 ERA last season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 2 1 1 - 1 21 1 0 28.1 31 16 16 1 9 1 24 1.41 5.08
2014 StL 2 4 1 - 6 57 7 0 89.1 90 41 40 4 36 8 84 1.41 4.03
2015 StL 14 7 0 - 0 31 29 0 179.2 168 65 60 13 63 5 184 1.29 3.01
2016 StL 16 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.1 169 68 66 15 70 1 174 1.22 3.04
2017 StL 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 2 205.0 179 93 83 27 71 3 217 1.22 3.64
2018 StL 8 6 5 - 5 33 18 0 118.2 100 48 41 5 60 4 117 1.35 3.11
Career 54 38 7 - 12 205 118 2 816.1 737 331 306 65 309 22 800 1.28 3.37

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 StL 57 12 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 StL 32 56 2 8 2 0 0 0 1 23 0 0 .143 .172 .179
2016 StL 33 59 5 14 1 0 0 6 0 13 0 0 .237 .246 .254
2017 StL 34 62 5 11 3 0 0 11 1 19 0 0 .177 .203 .226
2018 StL 34 33 1 8 2 0 1 4 0 11 0 0 .242 .235 .394
Career 211 224 13 44 8 0 1 23 2 71 0 0 .196 .212 .246

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 12 0 0 12.2 7 5 5 0 3 1 11 3.55
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 1 2 2 0 1 0 2 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 6.0 5 3 3 0 1 1 5 4.50
2014 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 0 4 0 2 1.93
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 1 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 16 0 0 16.2 10 6 6 0 7 1 13 3.24


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 899 99 85 93.6 45.57
Curveball 59 84 74 79.8 2.99
Slider 434 88 78 83.5 22
Changeup 252 90 81 86.7 12.77
Cut Fastball 329 96 84 90.7 16.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.